

Gamma Sigma Delta THE HONOR SOCIETY OF AGRICULTURE NEBRASKA CHAPTER

Teaching Award Nomination

TO: IANR Administrators and Gamma Sigma Delta Members

FROM: Teaching Award Committee

Dann Husmann, Chair Roberto Cortinas Merlyn Nielsen

RE: Nominations for Gamma Sigma Delta Teaching Award

The Teaching Award Committee announces the call for nominations for the 2016 Gamma Sigma Delta Teaching Award. We urge you to consider nominating one of our many outstanding faculty for this recognition of excellence in teaching.

The selection criteria and format for the nomination are on the following page. An award application remains active for three years unless the individual submitting the application asks that it be withdrawn. Nomination should be submitted <u>electronically</u> by **November 21, 2016** to:

Dann Husmann dhussmann2@unl.edu

PAST AWARD RECIPIENTS

1963	John Sulek	1981	David T. Lewis	1999	Leon Higley
1964	Loyal C. Payne	1982	Allen G. Blezek	2000	Donald C. Lee
1965	William L. Colville	1983	Ted H. Doane	2001	Walter Schacht
1966	Pauline N. Doryland	1984	Robert A. Olson	2002	Phil Miller
1967	David P. McGill	1985	M. Rosalind Morris	2003	Stephen Mason
1968	James G. Kendrick	1986	Virginia A. Book	2004	Ellen Paparozzi
1969	Charles H. Adams	1987	Richard Waldren	2005	Timothy Carr
1970	U.E. Wendorff	1988	Dennis R. Brink	2006	Linda O. Young
1971	Terry J. Klopfenstein	1989	Steve Waller	2007	Darrell R. Mark
1972	Ernest J. Peo, Jr.	1990	Robert Sorenson	2008	Bryan Reiling
1973	Lowell E. Moser	1991	Jim Kinder	2009	Tiffany Heng-Moss
1974	P.J. Cunningham	1992	Ken Von Bargen	2010	Martha Mamo
1975	Roy G. Arnold	1993	Ackland Jones	2011	Lisa Karr-Lilienthal
1976	A. Dale Flowerday	1994	Ronald M. Case	2012	Madhavan Soundararajan
1977	Bobby D. Moser	1995	Dennis M. Conley	2013	Dann Husmann
1978	Dwane Zimmerman	1996	George H. Pfeiffer	2014	Roberto Cortinas
1979	Ronald J. Hanson	1997	Dennis McCallister	2015	Merlyn Nielsen
1980	Keith E. Gilster	1998	Steve Jones		

Gamma Sigma Delta Teaching Award

SELECTION CRITERIA

Outstanding teaching and advising record as evidenced by:

- 1. Student and peer evaluations of courses and instructor.
- 2. Commitment to teaching improvement activities.
- 3. Formal and informal interaction with students as academic and/or student organization adviser.
- 4. Membership in Gamma Sigma Delta.
- 5. An award application remains active for three years unless the individual submitting the application asks that it be withdrawn.

FORMAT FOR NOMINATION

- Name of nominee (including an email address)
- Educational background
- Current position
- Responsibilities (courses taught and enrollment for past five semesters, spring semester 2014 through spring semester 2016)
- Academic advising responsibilities for past five semesters
- Documentation of scholarly activity such as invited/peer reviewed presentations, publications in teaching such as articles, textbooks, etc.
- Participation in teaching improvement program
- > Student involvement (out-of-classroom interaction, advising of student organization etc.)
- Impact of nominee as teacher and adviser
- Student course evaluations which shall consist of a copy of the Results of the Objective Items. On the current CASNR evaluation form (CIEQ), this is the front summary page.
- Four letters of recommendation in addition to the nominator's letter are required. One letter of recommendation from a colleague, present student, former student, and an administrator should be submitted with the nomination