

# Gamma Sigma Delta THE HONOR SOCIETY OF AGRICULTURE NEBRASKA CHAPTER

### **Award of Merit Nomination**

**TO:** IANR Administrators and Gamma Sigma Delta Members

**FROM:** Award of Merit Committee

Don Wilhite, Chair Dennis Brink Paul Hay Steve Waller

**RE:** Nominations for Gamma Sigma Delta Award of Merit

The Award of Merit Committee announces the call for nominations for the 2016 Gamma Sigma Delta Award of Merit. We urge you to consider nominating one of our many outstanding faculty for this special recognition.

The selection criteria and format for the nomination are described on the following page. Nominations should be submitted <u>electronically</u> by **November 21, 2016** to:

Don Wilhite dwilhite2@unl.edu

### **PAST AWARD RECIPIENTS**

1956	O.H. Leibers	1969	Albert J. Ebers	1982	Donald Hanway	1997	Martin Massengale
1956	T.A. Kiesselbach	1970	Lionel C. Harris	1983	John Furrer	1998	Keith Gregory
1957	W.W. Burr	1970	T.M. McCalla	1983	James Williams, Jr.	1998	James Kinder
1958	F.L. Duley	1971	E.F. Frolik	1984	William Splinter	1999	Karen Craig
1958	R.W. Gross	1971	A.W. Epp	1984	R.D. Schnieder	2000	Robert Shearman
1959	H.C. Filley	1972	Clare Porter	1985	Lowell E. Moser	2000	Dale Van Vleck
1959	W.J. Loeffel	1972	Harold Stevens	1985	Glen J. Vollmar	2001	Rita Kean
1960	T.H. Goodding	1973	John L. Adams	1986	David P. McGill	2001	Roger Wehrbein
1961	<b>Howard Deems</b>	1973	Gordon E. Dickerson	1987	Francis Haskins	2002	Rodger Johnson
1962	Ralph Cole	1974	Philip A. Henderson	1988	Richard D. Earl	2002	Roger Mandigo
1962	G.A. Spidel	1974	M.G. McCreight	1988	Herman J. Gorz	2003	Merlyn K. Nielsen
1963	Chauncy Smith	1975	Marvin J. Twiehaus	1989	Glenn Froning	2004	Charles Hibberd
1963	Marvel Baker	1975	Myron Rumery	1989	Dermot Coyne	2005	David Keith
1964	JC Russel	1976	Robert E. Roselle	1990	Sid Salzman	2006	Z B Mayo
1964	J.C. Swinbank	1976	Doyle H. Free	1990	LaVerne Stetson	2006	Ron Hanson
1965	Marcus A. Weldon	1977	Ernest R. Peo, Jr.	1991	Robert Fritschen	2007	Don Adams
1965	M.A. Alexander	1977	John L. Weihing	1992	Charles Stonecipher	2008	Alan Baquet
1966	Lawrence K. Crowe	1978	O. Burr Ross	1992	Wes W. Furrer	2009	Elbert Dickey
1966	Frank E. Mussehl	1978	Ralston Graham	1993	Irvin T. Omtvedt	2010	Keith Glewen
1967	H.O. Werner	1979	Robert A. Olson	1994	Kermit Hansen	2011	Susan Fritz
1968	John Muehlbeier	1979	Thomas W. Sullivan	1994	Anne Vidaver	2012	Elizabeth Birnstihl
1968	R.M. Sandstedt	1980	Rosalind Morris	1995	Glenn A. Helmers	2013	Don Wilhite
1968	Stanley Matzke	1981	Charles H. Adams	1995	John Witkowski	2014	Dennis Brink
1968	Willard Waldo	1981	Paul Fischbach	1996	Joan M. Laughlin	2015	Paul Hay
1969	Edward W. Janike	1982	Wayne Collins	1996	Robert L. Raun	2015	Steven Waller

## Gamma Sigma Delta Award of Merit

#### **OBJECTIVE**

The Award of Merit is to further recognize those who have rendered outstanding service in research, extension, teaching, administration, and leadership in the field of agriculture, natural resources, and human sciences.

### **REQUIREMENTS**

The recipient of the Award of Merit must meet the following requirements:

- 1. Qualify under the objectives as stated above.
- 2. Be a member of Gamma Sigma Delta.
- 3. Minimum age 30 years.

### **PROCEDURES**

The President shall appoint an Award of Merit Committee annually. The committee shall be composed of three members of which at least one member is from the previous year's committee.

The committee will canvass the membership of GSD for nominations for the Award of Merit. Nominations, as submitted to the committee, must be accompanied by supporting information. No nominations may be made from the floor at any meeting of GSD.

From the nominations received, the committee shall select not more than three candidates. The names of these candidates shall be presented to the membership in ballot form for mail vote. A brief statement of the qualifications of each candidate shall accompany the ballots.

A maximum of two Awards of Merit may be made each year. This does not preclude the making of one award or no award in any particular year.

The award(s) shall be presented at the annual banquet; and except under unusual circumstances, the recipient will be expected to be present to receive the award.